Will BJP hit a hat-trick of victory in Goa? Interesting political battle with TMC’s entry


The contest has turned interesting in Goa’s political scene with the entry of the Trinamool Congress and the announcement of two regional parties to contest the upcoming assembly elections. Here the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party, the opposition Congress, Aam Aadmi Party and Shiv Sena are preparing to contest the elections on their own.

‘Revolutionary Goans’ and ‘Goencho Awaaz’ are the two regional parties that will try their luck in the elections for the first time. Apart from these, Goa Forward Party (GFP) and Maharashtrawadi Gomantak Party (MGP) are also in the race for power.

BJP will try to come to power for the third time in a row

The BJP is in power here since 2012 and is trying to form the government for the third time in a row. The BJP feels that the more parties there are in the electoral battle, the better it will be for it as it will divide the votes of the opposition. The ruling Trinamool Congress in West Bengal had recently said that it plans to contest all 40 seats in Goa.

Former Chief Minister took TMC’s hand

Former Congress MLA Luizinho Faleiro has joined Trinamool Congress a few days back. Former MGP MLA Lavu Mamlakar has also become a member of Mamata’s party, but no other local influential leader has done so after that. Arvind Kejriwal-led Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) had fielded candidates in the 2017 Goa Assembly elections but its account was not even opened. This time also AAP has decided to contest the upcoming elections.


Congress eager to return to power

Congress is eager to return to power and it seems that it is not ready for alliance with like-minded parties. Goa Pradesh Congress Committee president Girish Chodankar had recently said, “It is not my job to take this decision. The high command will take a decision on this.”

In the year 2017, the Congress had secured the maximum number of 17 seats in the 40-member assembly and the BJP got 13 seats. However, the BJP formed the government under the leadership of Manohar Parrikar with the support of regional parties.

Shiv Sena will fight on 22-25 seats

The GFP had taken the initiative to join hands with the Congress and it also says that no concrete response has been received on this proposal so far. The Nationalist Congress Party also has its existence in Goa and Churchill Alemao is its only MLA. A few days ago, Shiv Sena leader Sanjay Raut had said that his party would contest 22 to 25 seats in Goa in the elections to be held in February next year. The party had contested the 2017 elections in alliance with the MGP but could not win any seats.

Some leaders believe that the opposition parties should come together and try to defeat the BJP but the BJP seems ready to give a tough fight. The BJP has announced that it will contest the elections under the leadership of Chief Minister Pramod Sawant and preparations are being made for all the 40 seats.


Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Back to top button