Voting continues for six municipal corporation elections in Gujarat, Amit Shah also arrives to cast his vote


Gujarat Municipal Election 2021: Voting continues for the election of six municipal corporations in Gujarat today amid tight security ahead of the Kovid-19 epidemic.


Gujarat Municipality Election 2021: COVID-19 Coronavirus is worldwide Sunday amid tight security Six Municipal Corporations in Gujarat (Gujarat Local Body Selection) Voting for the election is underway. Voting started at 7 am in different wards of six municipal corporations in Ahmedabad, Vodara, Surat, Rajkot, Jamnagar and Bhawanagar, after which people lined up outside the polling booths. Voting will continue until 5 p.m. Elderly voters were also seen at various booths in the morning, where people were seen following the rules of Kovid-19 prevention while wearing masks and sanitizers and maintaining social distance.

Read more: Night curfew has been extended to 28 out of 4 cities in Gujarat

Local MPs, MLAs and leaders of various political parties also reached various polling stations in the morning to cast their votes. Among those who cast their votes in the morning were BJP MP Kirit Solanki and party MLA Rakesh Shah. Solanki, along with his wife and family members, voted at a booth in the Ranip area of ​​Ahmedabad, and at a booth in the Ellisbridge area of ​​Shah Nagar. Union Home Minister Amit Shah also reached a booth in Naranpura area of ​​Ahmedabad with his family to cast his vote.

Chief Minister Vijay Rupani is also likely to cast his vote in his hometown of Rajkot, where he contracted the corona virus a few days ago during the election campaign. The main competition in this election is between the BJP and the main opposition Congress The BJP has ruled these six municipal corporations in the last six terms. The Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) has claimed that it will be an effective alternative to the BJP and the Congress, while Asaduddin Owaisi’s All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (AIIMIM) is contesting local body elections for the first time. Officials say about 32,000 police have been deployed to cast ballots in 52 of the 32 constituencies. There are four councilors in each ward.


fwn({ app_id: 'vbfSDYYeMhsSGS7hb7LjvAStfDroYVRC', placement: 'middle', page_type: 'article', target: document.getElementById('fwn_videos') }); });

Read more: Gujarat riot victims join AIIM, Congress alleges

Listen to the latest songs, only at

A total of 2,2,6 candidates are contesting in six municipalities. Besides, nine candidates are in the fray for the by-elections in two seats of Junagadh Municipal Corporation. There are 57 candidates from BJP, 566 from Congress, 400 from AAP, 91 from NCP, 353 from other parties and 226 independents. According to the State Election Commission, there are a total of 1.14 crore voters, including 1.0.60 lakh men and 54.06 lakh women. Out of 11,121 polling stations, 2,255 were identified as sensitive and 1,16 as highly sensitive. The vote count will be held on 23 February.

(This news is not edited by NDTV team. It is published directly from Syndicate feed))


Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Back to top button