Mamta Banerjee on the footsteps of BJP, implemented one person one post formula in the party


Following in the footsteps of the BJP, Trinamool Congress chief Mamata Banerjee has come up with a one man one post formula in the party. Under this, the post of party district president has been snatched from many ministers. Also the organization has been divided into smaller units in larger districts. TMC MP Mahua Moitra’s name is also included in the big names removed from the post of party district president. Mahuo Moitra was the party president in Nadia district. Apart from this, Irrigation Minister Suman Mohapatra has been removed from East Midnapore, Forest Minister Jyotipriyo Mulik from North 24 Parganas, Cooperative Minister Arup Roy from Howrah and another Minister Pulak Roy from Howrah Rural District President.

Steps taken after PK’s advice

Senior party leaders say that these changes have been made keeping in view the Panchayat elections 2023 and Lok Sabha elections 2024 along with the municipal body. He said that in July, political strategist Prashant Kishor and Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee had discussed changes in Kolkata. According to a senior leader, the meeting, which lasted for about three hours, took place at the Chief Minister’s residence in Kalighat in south Kolkata. During this, Mamata’s nephew and TMC national general secretary Abhishek Banerjee was also present. According to the new setup, large administrative districts like Kolkata have been divided into various organizational units and committees. Each of these will have a chairman. According to another senior party leader, however, the party had won 213 out of 292 seats in the assembly elections. Despite this the party’s performance in some districts was not satisfactory. He said that the new setup has been planned in such a way that the strategy can be implemented properly at the local level. At the same time, local leaders can also be monitored so that the image of the party at the grassroots level is not affected.


Preference is to be given to youth and local leaders

There are total 23 administrative districts in West Bengal. TM has divided these into 35 organizational units. Murshidabad and Nadia districts are divided into two units. On the other hand, North 24 Parganas district is divided into four areas. Significantly, despite TMC coming to power for the third time in a row, Mamata Banerjee had to face defeat at the hands of Shubhendu Adhikari. Mamta got this defeat from Nandigram in East Midnapore. This district is now divided into two parts, Tumluk and Contai. Nandigram comes in Tumluk. A TMC leader pointed out that it was not possible for a minister or an MP to see the entire district. These people will be there for guidance, but the party wants to give more priority to youth and local leaders. The BJP also has a similar organizational structure. Big districts BJP has made 39 small units. It has two units at Murshidabad and Nadia. Each of these has a separate chairman. The BJP has four units in North 24 Parganas, which has 34 assembly and five Lok Sabha seats.


Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Back to top button