Bypoll results: Congress gains more, BJP loses


The results of the bypolls, held just before the next year’s assembly elections, were declared on Tuesday. Voting was held for three Lok Sabha and 29 assembly seats in the country on 30 October. The results of 29 assembly and three Lok Sabha seats were not very encouraging for the BJP, but for the main opposition Congress, the results have definitely worked as a booster dose. Assembly elections are to be held in Uttar Pradesh, Uttarakhand, Punjab, Goa and Manipur in 2022. In such a situation, all the parties had put their efforts to make their candidates win in the by-elections. A big blow to BJP is the BJP government in Himachal Pradesh and Chief Minister Jai Ram Thakur failed to make his candidates win there. BJP candidate Brigadier Kushal Chand Thakur has been defeated by Pratibha Singh of Congress from Mandi Lok Sabha seat of Himachal Pradesh. Congress has also won three assembly seats in the state. Congress is considering this as a good sign for itself. In the elections held on three Lok Sabha seats, BJP is leading on only one. He has lost in the remaining two seats. Congress spokesperson Randij Surjewala tweeted, “BJP has lost 2 out of 3 seats in the Lok Sabha bypolls. Even in the assembly elections where there is a direct contest between Congress-BJP, BJP has lost.

Himachal, Rajasthan, Karnataka, Maharashtra are proofs of this.” The interesting results of the by-elections have made one thing clear that the 2022 assembly elections can be difficult for the BJP. Senior journalist Prabhat Shunglu says, “Virbhadra Singh’s passing. After that his wife Pratibha Singh contested the election and won. While the Mandi seat was won by the BJP, the by-elections were held after the death of their sitting MP and the Congress won. Not only this, Pratibha Singh defeated BJP’s candidate and Kargil War hero Kushal Chand Thakur.” He says, “The by-election was a particularly shocking one for the BJP. In West Bengal, Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee told that she is still in a strong position. Good news for Trinamool Congress, it won all four seats, CPM and BJP fought for second and third place. Mamta has maintained her supremacy” What were the results in other states Counting of votes took place on Tuesday after the voting in two assembly constituencies in the Bihar by-election. While the RJD lost after an early lead in Tarapur, the BJP has won all the three seats in Assam where it fielded its candidates. In Meghalaya, former footballer Eugeneson Lyngdoh, who is contesting on United Democratic Party ticket, has won. BJP’s ally NPP (National People’s Party) has won Rajbala seat and leading in another seat. .


MNF has won the Tuiriyal seat in Mizoram. Gehlot’s hold strong In Rajasthan, Congress has won in Vallabhnagar and Dhariyavad seats. The Congress has raised its flag on the Dhariyavad, which is called the stronghold of the BJP. There is no good news for the BJP from the southern state of Karnataka as well. The by-elections for two seats there were seen as a fire test for the new Chief Minister Basavaraj S Bommai. Congress won one seat and BJP won one seat. There elections were held on Hangal and Sindgi seats. Some time ago, BJP had removed senior leader BS Yediyurappa from the post of Chief Minister and handed over the responsibility of the state to Bommai. Shunglu says, “The biggest setback for the BJP is in Karnataka’s Hangal seat, which is part of Chief Minister Bommai’s home district Haveri. Not only this, but the neighboring assembly constituency is Yeddyurappa’s area. Here its arch rival Congress has fielded a BJP candidate. By a margin of more than seven thousand votes, this can be called a big victory for the Congress, because BJP had formed a manipulative government by ousting the same government.

Yediyurappa is no more the CM and Bommai has lost in his own district.” Is inflation the reason for the defeat? The results of assembly by-elections in 13 states before Diwali have definitely worried the BJP. Since the Covid period in the country There are many such issues including unemployment, inflation, rising petrol and diesel prices every day. On the other hand, farmers of Punjab, Haryana, Uttar Pradesh have been agitating against three agricultural laws for the last 11 months. According to media reports Himachal Pradesh Chief Minister Jai Ram Thakur has cited inflation as the reason for the party’s defeat in Himachal. He has said that the party has to face defeat due to rising inflation. That despite BJP’s ‘Congress-mukt’ slogan, Congress will stand in the way of BJP in many states. However, the BJP got relief results from Madhya Pradesh. It has won two assembly seats and one Lok Sabha seat. State chief Shivraj Singh Chouhan said People have expressed gratitude for the victory. Five in Assam, four in West Bengal Bypolls were held for three assembly seats each in Madhya Pradesh, Himachal Pradesh and Meghalaya, two each in Bihar, Karnataka and Rajasthan and one each in Andhra Pradesh, Haryana, Maharashtra, Mizoram and Telangana. At the same time, by-elections were held for Dadar and Nagar Haveli of Lok Sabha, Mandi in Himachal Pradesh and Khandwa seat of Madhya Pradesh.


Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Back to top button