BJP MP Nishikant Dubey presented Privilege Motion against Shashi Tharoor, demanding his removal from the post of Chairman of IT Committee


After the Bharatiya Janata Party boycotted the meeting of the Parliamentary Standing Committee on Information and Technology, now BJP MP Nishikant Dubey has demanded the removal of Shashi Tharoor from the post of IT Standing Committee chairman and for this he has made a Privilege Motion. has been introduced. At the same time, he has said that he will not attend the meetings until he is removed from the post.

Referring to Rule 222, Nishikant Dubey said that on the one hand the people of the Congress opposition parties are not allowing the House to function and on the other hand the Parliamentary Committee meeting is being held. He further said that the opposition is ready to discuss these issues neither in the Lok Sabha nor in the Rajya Sabha, yet the head of the committee (Tharoor) wants to discuss the same (in meetings). Dubey said that there has been a breach of privilege of the House as the issue to be discussed in the meeting was already published in the newspapers, which is in violation of the instructions laid down for the sittings.

He said that we can bring a privilege motion against him under Article 94 of the Constitution of India. He said that the Privilege Motion motion against Shashi Tharoor has the signatures of 17 members. Needless to say, this gentleman (Tharoor) has not only ripped apart the democratic functioning of an eminent committee, but also has a high level of respect for his political master, he said in the privilege notice given to the speaker by BJP MP Dubey. The sycophancy has also been demonstrated.


He also said that the Congress has a habit of creating ruckus through its friends like the current chairman of the Information Technology Committee. Meanwhile, Dubey appealed to the Speaker that no meeting of the said committee should be held till a decision is taken on the notice given by him. Let us inform that yesterday the meeting of the Parliamentary Standing Committee of IT was boycotted by the MPs of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP). The BJP MPs included in the concerned committee accused the chairman Shashi Tharoor of doing arbitrariness. BJP members allege that Shashi Tharoor tries to run his agenda in the meeting.

In fact, actor Kamal Haasan and lyricist Prasoon Joshi appeared on Tuesday before a parliamentary committee reviewing the functioning of the censor board. Haasan and Joshi were called by the Standing Committee on Information Technology, headed by Congress leader Shashi Tharoor. Joshi heads the Censor Board. The agenda of the committee meeting was to review the functioning of the Board of Film Certification of India in the context of the draft Cinematograph (Amendment Bill), 2021.

The BJP leaders claimed that they were not informed about the agenda of the meeting. BJP MPs also said that when the Parliament is not functioning due to the uproar of the opposition, then how can the Parliamentary Committee do its work. The opposition members in the committee claimed that a notification regarding the meeting was issued and the members were informed about it in advance.


Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Back to top button