Bhubaneswar-Rajdhani Express hijacking case: NI files chargesheet against 10 Naxalites


The National Investigation Agency has named 10 Maoists in its chargesheet in the 2009 Bhubaneswar-Rajdhani Express hijack case. In the Rajdhani Express hijack case, in 2009, the railway workers were taken hostage with the hijacking of the Bhubaneshwar Rajdhani Express at Junglemahal. In this case, a charge sheet has been filed in the special court of NIA. Later this train was freed from the clutches of the hijackers after a hard work by about 20 local policemen and 150 CRPF jawans. The driver and all the passengers were completely safe.

The Anti Terror Agency had taken over this case from the state police in the year 2020. After which NIA filed its charge sheet. Those named in the chargesheet are Chhatradhar Mahato, Mansaram Hembram, Sahebram Murmu, Thakurmani Hembram alias Tara (Female), Sanatak Soren, Sikha (Female), Asari Mahto, Dashrath Baske, Dhanpati Mahto and Dileshwar Mahto. Chhatradhar Mahato is also the leader of TMC.

A few months before the assembly elections, the Mamta government had got Chhatradhar Mahto released from jail by reducing the sentence from the High Court, after which he was included in the state committee of Trinamool Congress. But on March 26, just before the elections in Junglemahal, Mahato was arrested by the NIA. The NIA has filed a charge sheet within 180 days of his arrest.


It is said that this hijacking was done on the instructions of Chhatradhar. Chhatradhar was the main accused in this case. At the time of hijacking, Chhatradhar was in jail in another case. At that time around 300-400 Maoist supporters hijacked this train.



Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Back to top button