13 High Courts of the country will get new Chief Justice, 17 judges also transferred, see full list


13 High Courts of the country will get new Chief Justice. The Supreme Court Collegium has recommended eight names for promotion to the Centre, including acting Chief Justice of Calcutta High Court Rajesh Bindal who has been elevated as Chief Justice of Allahabad High Court. The collegium has also recommended transfer of five Chief Justices to different High Courts.

If the Central Government accepts the recommendations of the collegium, Justice Bindal will become the Chief Justice of the Allahabad High Court. Besides him, seven other judges have also been recommended to be made Chief Justices.

In a statement issued by the apex court, it has been recommended to promote the judges to the rank of judges of the high courts in the meeting of the collegium held on 16 September 2021.

Besides Justice Bindal, the collegium recommended the names of Ranjit V More, Satish Chandra Sharma, Prakash Srivastava, RV Malimath, Rituraj Awasthi, Arvind Kumar and Prashant Kumar Mishra in Meghalaya, Telangana, Calcutta, Madhya Pradesh, Karnataka, Gujarat and Andhra Pradesh respectively. as the Chief Justice of the High Courts of

Transfer of 5 Chief Justices


The Collegium has also transferred five Chief Justices to the High Courts. The collegium has also recommended that Tripura High Court Chief Justice Akil Qureshi be transferred to the Rajasthan High Court. Apart from transferring Chief Justice of Rajasthan High Court Inderjit Mohanty to Tripura High Court, Madhya Pradesh High Court Chief Justice Mohammad Rafiq to Himachal Pradesh High Court, Meghalaya High Court Chief Justice Vishwanath Somaddar to Sikkim High Court, the collegium has also decided to move Andhra Pradesh High Court. High Court Chief Justice AK Goswami has been recommended to be transferred to the Chhattisgarh High Court.

17 judges transferred

The Collegium in its meeting held on September 16 has recommended transfer/re-transfer of 17 judges of the High Courts. In these, Justices CD Singh and Yashwant Verma of Allahabad High Court have been sent to Delhi High Court and Vivek Agarwal, Ravinath Tiwari have been sent to MP and Andhra Pradesh High Courts respectively. At the same time, Ahsanuddin Amanullah has been transferred from Patna High Court to Andhra Pradesh High Court. Justice AM Badar has been transferred from Kerala to Patna High Court. Apart from this, Justice Sanjay Kumar Mishra has been transferred from Orissa High Court to Uttarakhand.

There are a total of 1080 posts of judges in the 25 High Courts present in the country, out of which 420 posts were vacant till May 1, 2021.


Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Back to top button